Employer-filed partial claims (EFC) may be filed by employers for full-time employees who work less than full-time during a pay period due to lack of work only. The employees must still be attached to the employer and must have earned wages that do not exceed the amount to be paid to the claimant (minus all applicable deductions) plus $50.00, applicable to weeks ending on or after July 8, 2023.
For weeks beginning on or after December 11, 2016, this limitation does not apply during an employer company shutdown or employer established vacation period when such shutdown or vacation period is because of circumstances outside the employer’s control which directly affect the employer’s business operations.
Georgia Employment Security Rule 300-2-4.09 became effective June 27, 2021. Employers can only submit six (6) consecutive weeks of EFC partial claims with no earnings. Individuals that are unemployed more than six (6) consecutive weeks will be considered to be separated and subsequent claims filed will not be processed or paid. In such cases, employees must file an individual unemployment claim to receive an eligibility determination and benefits, if allowed, and will be required to meet all eligibility requirements.
Georgia Employment Security Rules 300-2-4-01 and 300-2-4-09 became effective June 29, 2023 and were amended to require employers to meet the following conditions to file EFCs on behalf of their employees;
- Employer accounts must have been registered more than 5 years in the past
- Employers must be current on all quarterly tax and wage reports
- Employers must be current on all quarterly contribution taxes, assessments, penalties, and interest
- The week ending date on employer-filed claims cannot be older than 30 days
The EFC process consists of two parts:
- The employer certifies to meet the conditions to use the EFC program and submits an employer-filed claim for an employee;
- The employee must create an employer-filed claim profile to include verification of identity.
What method is available to submit employer-filed partial claims?
Employer-filed partial claims may be filed online by employers meeting the above conditions by accessing the Employer Portal.
Employees may create a profile online by accessing the MyUI Claimant Portal.