2018 Regional Business Summits

February 22, 2018

The Georgia Department of Labor (GDOL) and local employer committees will co-sponsor 12 Regional Business Summits and Networking Events across the state, "Employers In the Know 2018". 

The summits are designed to meet the needs of managers, human resources professionals, business owners, and supervisors seeking practical guidance and real world tips for handling the toughest management and compliance challenges and want to operate effectively within the legal climate that is affecting the 2018 workplace. 

This annual event, "Employers in the Know 2018" provides an opportunity to:

  • Meet and hear from Commissioner of Labor Mark Butler, as he shares valuable information on current GDOL initiatives and programs.
  • Get information from a Labor Law expert to plan your policies and actions during this complex legal and regulatory environment facing all businesses in 2018 including practical tips on how to avoid DOL investigations and other legal hot topics. Learn about new and amended regulations and legislation that affect your business in 2018.
  • This year's crash course will feature a panel of experts discussion on Family Medical Leave Act, Workers' Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Harassment and more.

$40 early bird registration (early bird registration ends two weeks prior to event date)
$50 at the door 
All summits start at 9:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.  Lunch is included.  
Registration and networking begins at 8:30 a.m.

Recertification credits through the Human Resources Certification Institute (HRCI) and Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM) are pending approval.

Don't miss the chance to attend this informative and impactful event that is certain to leave you "In the Know."

Register for a Business Summit

Date: Wednesday, April 18
Area: Regions 12 - Chatham, Bullock, Effingham and surrounding counties
Location: National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air Force
Address: 175 Bourne Avenue, Pooler, GA 31322
Contact:  Tammie.Bishop@gdol.ga.gov or Faith.Copeland-Pittman@gdol.ga.gov

Date: Wednesday, April 25
Area: Region 4 - Coweta, Carroll, Spalding and surrounding counties
Location: Asa Powell Expo Center - Newnan, GA
Address: 197 Temple Avenue, Newnan, GA 30263
Contact: Deedee.Williams@gdol.ga.gov or Tara.Grdinich@gdol.ga.gov

Date: Wednesday, May 16
Area:  Region 9 - Laurens, Jeff Davis, Toombs and surrounding counties
Location: Oconee Fall Line Technical College
Address: 560 Pinehill Road, Dublin, GA 31021
Contact: Susan.Woodard@gdol.ga.gov

Date: Wednesday, May 23
Area: Region 11 -  Lowndes, Coffee, Tift and surrounding counties
Location: TBD - Valdosta, GA
Contact: Wanda.Roe@gdol.ga.gov

Date: Wednesday, June 13
Area:  Region 3N & 3S Metro Atlanta and surrounding counties
Location: Mansour Conference Center
Address: 995 Roswell Street, Suite 100, Marietta, GA 30060
Contact: Tomika.Singh@gdol.ga.gov

Date: Wednesday, August 1
Area: Region 10 - Dougherty, Lee, Worth and surrounding counties
Location: Albany Technical College Kirkland Conference Center
Address: 1704 South Slappey Boulevard, Albany, GA 31701
Contact: Ginger.Faircloth@gdol.ga.gov   

Date: Wednesday, August 22
Area: Region 8 - Muscogee, Harris, Sumter and surrounding counties
Location: Columbus Technical College - Carl Patrick Hall Student Center
Address: 928 Manchester Expressway, Columbus, GA 31904
Contact: Isaac.Williams@gdol.ga.gov  

Date: Wednesday, Sep 12
Area: Region 6 - Bibb, Houston, Putnam and surrounding counties
Location: Central Georgia Technical College -Warner Robins Campus Bldg. W
Address: 80 Cohen Walker Drive, Warner Robins, GA 31088
Contact: Chantea.Smith@gdol.ga.gov

Date: Wednesday, Sep 26
Area: Region 7 - Columbia, McDuffie, Richmond and surrounding counties
Location: TBD - Evans, GA
Contact: Teresa.Miller@gdol.ga.gov  

Date: Wednesday, Oct 3
Area: Region 5 - Barrow, Jackson, Clarke and surrounding areas
Location:  TBD - Athens, GA
Contact: Simisola.Johnson@gdol.ga.gov

Date: Wednesday, Oct 10
Area: Region 1 - Northwest Georgia
Location: TBD - Rome, GA
Contact: Tara.Grdinich@gdol.ga.gov

Date: Wednesday, Oct 24
Area: Region 2 - and surrounding areas
Location: Lanier College & Career Academy – The Oaks -  Gainesville, GA  
Address: 2719 Tumbling Creek Road, Gainesville, GA 30504
Contact: Tammy.Rauch@gdol.ga.gov or Janet.Chapman@gdol.ga.gov

Register for a Business Summit