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300-7-1-.01 Definitions. Amended.

As used in this part, the following terms shall be in effect:

(a) Employment - An association through performance or participation with any motion
picture production company, theatrical group or association, broadcasting (radio and
television) or photographic modeling agency whether or not monetary remuneration is
provided.

(b) Minor - Anyone under the age of 18 performing, participating, or employed in the
field of entertainment.

(c) Performance - Participation by a minor in any public presentation or exhibition.

(d) Production - The creation of a work to be presented on stage, screen, video tape,
audio tape, open air, runway modeling, or in still photographs. Production shall not
include any play or production produced exclusively by a church or school.

(e) Department - The Georgia Department of Labor and authorized representatives
thereof.

(f) Commissioner - The Commissioner of the Department of Labor or the Commissioner’s
designee.

(9) Production or performance site - Any facility established by the employer from which
minors are at the disposal of, or subject to call by the employer, whether or not physically
located on the production set.

(h) Tutor - a person certified as a tutor by the State Department of Education or who
possesses a current certificate to teach in Georgia, or an individual who possesses a
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bachelor's degree in education; or who meets the requirements of regulations promulgated by the
State Department of Education.

(i) Child Labor Coordinator — a person within the production company on each project who shall
be responsible for the coordination and safety of the minor's employment.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-18 and 39-2-19.

300-7-1-.02 Intent. Amended.

(1) Any ambiguity or questions of interpretation of rules shall be resolved in a manner providing
the minor with the greatest protection possible.

(2) These rules shall apply to all minors employed in Georgia. Any minor from another state
working in Georgia will be governed by these rules.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-18, and 39-2-19.

300-7-1-.03 Notification Requirements. Amended.

(1) Any person or entity employing or otherwise utilizing the services of a minor in any film
production, video tape production, phonographic recording, stage production or other live
performance shall notify the Department on an application form prescribed by the Commissioner
of its intent to use such minors, in the following manner:

(a) If the employer has knowledge of the intent to use minors at least 5 days prior to production,
notice shall be given no less than 5 working days prior to the beginning of the production.

(b) If the employer does not have knowledge of the intent to use minors 5 days prior to the
production commencement, then notice must be given on the earliest date thereafter at which the
employer has such knowledge.

(2) The application for individual minors shall:

(a) provide a general description of the tasks to be performed by each minor that is sufficient to
allow the Department to determine the nature of the task to be performed.

(b) include anticipated length of participation by each minor;

(c) include the employer’s valid worker’s compensation information;

(d) provide any change of information as required in 300-7-1-.03(4)

(3) The employer will comply with Georgia child labor laws and regulations with the submission
of the application.

(a) By submitting this notice, the Employer certifies, as to its employees, that the Child Labor
Coordinator is 21 years or older and has completed a security background check (“SBC”) to
verify the individual has not been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude. This SBC consists of
criminal county searches, federal searches, and verification or personally identifiable
information. The Department’s current SBC standards require that the Child Labor Coordinator’s
SBC reflects:
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1. No felony conviction or “no lo contendere” or “no contest” plea within the preceding seven
years for crimes of moral turpitude;

2. No uncompleted deferred adjudication, probation, or parole for any felony (regardless of
whether the conviction is within the preceding seven years);

3. No identification as an active sex offender using an available sex offender database.

(3) Upon receipt of the application(s), the Department will review the application for compliance
with Georgia child labor laws and if determined necessary, conduct a visual inspection of the
worksite(s).

(4) Should changes occur in the aforementioned information or circumstances after consent has
been granted, the employer shall immediately notify the Department of said changes.

(5) In the specific case of episodic production, the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s
designee may waive the notice required by 300-7-1-.03(1) per project to a single notice or the
year that provides a sufficient summary of expected work for that year. However, should changes
occur in the aforementioned information or circumstances after consent has been granted, the
employer shall immediately notify the Department of said changes.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-2, 39-2-18 and 39-2-19.

300-7-1-.04 Educational Requirements. Amended.

(1) Where any employment responsibilities of minors under 16 years of age require absences
from regular school curriculum in excess of 2 consecutive calendar school days, an authorized
tutor must be provided at the location of the production or performance.

(2) The tutor shall be provided by the production or performance company, and neither

the minor, nor the minor's family shall incur in part or whole the costs associated with the
tutor.

(3) Each minor shall be provided at least 3 hours of instruction per day. Such instruction

shall be administered by the tutor.

(4) Daily lesson plans shall be developed and maintained by the tutor, along with all
assignments completed by the minor and a statement of attendance. These documents shall be
turned over to the minor's local school officials no later than the end of the employment period.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-18 and 39-2-19.

300-7-1-.05 Hours of Participation. Amended.

() Infants aged between 15 days to 6 months:

(a) May be at the place of employment for one period of 2 consecutive hours, which must occur
1. Between 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. or

2. Between 2:30 p.m. and 4:30 p.m.

(b) Actual work shall not exceed 20 minutes.
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(c) Infants shall not be exposed to light exceeding 100 foot-candles for more than 30 seconds at a
time.

(d) For each three or fewer infants aged 15 days to 6 weeks, a licensed child care provider and a
nurse must be present.

(e) For each ten or fewer infants aged 6 weeks to 6 months, a licensed child care provider and a
nurse must be present.

(2) Minors aged between 6 months to 2 years:

(a) May be at the place of employment for up to 4 hours per day.

(b) May work up to 2 hours per day.

(c) The remaining time must be reserved for the minor’s rest and recreation.

(3) Minors aged between 2 years to 6 years:

(a) May be at the place of employment for up to 6 hours per day.

(b) May work up to 3 hours per day.

(c) The remaining time must be reserved for the minor’s rest and recreation.

(4) Minors aged between 6 years to 16 years:

(a) May be at the place of employment for up 10 hours per day.

(b) May work up to 5 hours per day.

(c) The remaining time shall include

1. One hour break for meals; and,

2. One additional hour for rest and recreation; and,

3.Three additional hours for tutoring.

(5) If at any time a minor is present on a performance or production site for greater than 4

hours, one hour of rest and recreation must be provided.

(6) Such additional breaks as may be required to insure the health, safety and well being

of the minor shall be permitted. Any request for a break by a departmental representative, or
Child Labor Coordinator, in the interest of the minor, must be granted.

(7) During significant breaks in production or completion in production there shall be at least
eight hours of rest between productions or performances and the minor’s attendance of regular
school hours.

(8) In emergency situations the employer may petition the Commissioner of Labor to relax the
hours of work limitations provided that consent has been given by the minor's parent or legal
guardian.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-18, and 39-2-19.

300-7-1-.06 Guardianship and Child Labor Coordinator. Amended.

(1) Employer shall designate a Child Labor Coordinator on each project or production who shall
be responsible for the coordination and safety of the minor's employment.

(2) All minors under the age of 6 years of age shall have a parent or legal guardian present at all
time when the minor is on the site of the production or performance, including all times the
minor is in wardrobe, make-up, or dress.
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(3) All other minors aged between 6 years to 16 years must have a parent or legal guardian or the
Child Labor Coordinator, with the written consent of the parent or legal guardian, present when
the minor is on the site of the production or performance.

(4) Should the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee determine that the employer is
not acting in the minor's best interest, such consent may be suspended pending a hearing, upon
receipt by employer of a written notice. During this time, the minor shall be removed from the
activity until such time as the hearing is concluded. Such hearing will be conducted under the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-18 and 39-2-19.

300-7-1-.07 Safety Inspection of the Work Location. Amended.

(1) Prior to any minor working on a performance or production, the Employer will submit an
application which includes a description of the work to be performed, the location and
compliance with educational requirements. The Employer shall attest that all information is true
and accurate. Upon review of the completed application, the Department will make a
determination to approve or disapprove the application and timely notify the Employer, in
writing of the determination.

(2) The employer will provide a copy of its valid Georgia Worker’s Compensation insurance to
the Department with the application.

(3) All performance or production sites in which a minor will be required to perform shall allow
access to the following facilities for all minors:

(a) suitable restroom facilities;

(b) dressing rooms or other safe and suitable areas for the minors when not performing.

Such dressing rooms may not be shared by members of different genders.

(c) adequate facilities for drinking water and food service;

(d) provisions available for administering first-aid to all minors. Emergency medical

personnel must be on site during exterior or potentially hazardous settings in which

minors will be participating.

(4) At the Department’s sole and exclusive discretion the Department shall conduct on-site
inspection as needed, without notice to Employer, to ensure the safety and well-being of the
minor(s).

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-2, 39-2-18 and 39-2-19.

300-7-1-.08 Conditions of Employment. Amended

(1) No minor in any production or performance shall be allowed to work in any location
deemed hazardous under Official Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia.
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(2) No minor shall be employed where the atmosphere, location, or place of employment

is hostile or offensive to the generally accepted standards of this State or the community

in which the minor is expected to perform.

(3) No minor may be required, coerced, or otherwise permitted to pose or perform nude or
partially nude in acts which are sexually explicit as defined by the Georgia Criminal Code, nor
shall any minor be present on a set while adults are posing or performing nude or partially nude
in acts which are sexually explicit as defined by the Georgia Criminal Code.

(4) No scene involving minors may begin until a certificate for the employment of minors

or permanent 1.D. card has been issued.

(5) At the time of application minors 16 and 17 years of age may request a permanent
employment authorization valid until their 18th birthday. The cardholder shall be exempt

from future "minors in entertainment application” filings and shall present said card to

the employer as verification of age and authorization for employment. However, this

shall not relieve the employer of notification requirements to the Department of Labor.

(6) Upon determination by the Commissioner of Labor or the Commissioner’s designee that
provisions enumerated in all subparts herein have been met, a certificate of consent

or permanent 1.D. card shall be issued. Certificates or permanent I.D. cards shall be

issued for each minor to be employed and shall specify validity periods.

(7) It shall be the responsibility of the employer to insure compliance with the Official

Code of Georgia Annotated and Official Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia

with regard to minors in entertainment.

(8) At the discretion of the Commissioner or his the Commissioner’s designee, an extension of
participation may be granted upon written request of the employer if the conditions upon which
the consent was initially granted have not materially changed.

(9) The Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee shall be permitted to be on the site for
verification during all times in which any minor was employed.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-2, 39-2-18 and 39-2-19.

300-7-1-.09 Withdrawal of Consent. Amended.

(1) Should the conditions upon which the Commissioner relied in granting consent, in the
Commissioner's opinion, deteriorate to the detriment of a minor, such consent may be
rescinded upon notifying the employer of the effective date of such actions and the basis
thereof.

(2) The Commissioner may, upon request by the employer or any other aggrieved party,
consent to an informal hearing in the Commissioner's office or any appropriate place
selected by the Commissioner where the employer or any other aggrieved party may
present evidence in support of a contrary position. The Commissioner may, based upon
evidence so presented, reverse the original position and reissue consent for such minor to
continue in the performance of his employment.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-18, and 39-2-109.
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300-7-1-.10 Exemption Application. Amended.

(1) Non-profit theatrical organizations exempt from the payment of federal taxes under
the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended, may file a written petition with the
Commissioner of Labor for a certificate to allow the organization to utilize minors within
their productions without the necessity of a Certificate of Consent for the Employment of
Minors.

(2) The petition shall include at a minimum:

(a) a description of the activities and types of productions in which minors will be
involved,;

(b) attestation of tax exempt status;

(c) assurance that the conditions for participation of minors in entertainment set forth in
OCGA Section 39-2-18(b) shall be observed.

(3) In the sole discretion of the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee, a permanent
blanket certificate may be issued to the organization, based upon an evaluation of the petition.
(4) If the exemption certificate is granted, the organization shall be relieved of
compliance responsibilities with the portions of the Official Rules of Georgia related to
the notification requirements and the certificate for employment of minors. Exemptions
granted to organizations relieving them of the requirement relative to certificates of
consent are not to be construed as relieving said organizations from compliance with any
State or local laws, rules and ordinances under which they are subject or may become
subject at a subsequent date.

(5) If at any time thereafter the conditions upon which the certificate was granted should
substantially change or if as a result of an investigation by the Department of Labor, the
organization should be found in violation of OCGA Section 39-2-18 (b), the certificate
shall be revoked for a period of not less than one year during which time the employer
shall be subject to the full application and certification process for each minor employed
or otherwise engaged in any theatrical production by the organization.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-18, and 39-2-19.
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300-7-2-.01 Age Limitations. Amended.

(1) The following is the list of jobs the Commissioner of Labor has determined will not
interfere with the schooling, health, and well-being of 14- and 15-year-olds and therefore MAY
BE performed by such youth. Any job not specifically permitted for 14 and 15 year-olds by this
Rule, is prohibited.

(@) Occupations connected with:

1. OFFICE and CLERICAL WORK, including operation of office machines.

2. WORK OF AN INTELLECTUAL OR ARTISTICALLY CREATIVE NATURE such as but
not limited to computer programming, the writing of software, teaching or performing as a
tutor, serving as a peer counselor or teacher’s assistant, singing, the playing of a musical
instrument, and drawing, as long as such employment complies with all the other provisions
contained in herein and state law.

3. COOKING with electric or gas grills that do not involve cooking over an open flame and
with deep fat fryers that are equipped with and utilize devices that automatically lower and
raise the baskets into and out of the oil or grease. NOTE: this section does not permit

cooking with equipment such as rotisseries, broilers, pressurized equipment including
fryolators, and cooking devices that operate at extremely high temperatures such as “Neico
broilers.”

4. CASHIERING, SELLING, MODELING, ART WORK, WORK IN ADVERTISING
DEPARTMENTS, WINDOW TRIMMING and COMPARATIVE SHOPPING.

5. PRICE MARKING and TAGGING by hand or by machine. ASSEMBLING ORDERS,
PACKING and SHELVING.

6. BAGGING and CARRYING OUT CUSTOMER ORDERS.

7. ERRAND and DELIVERY WORK by foot, bicycle, and public transportation. Except such
youth may not be employed by a public messenger service.

8. CLEANUP WORK, including the use of vacuum cleaners and floor waxers, and the
maintenance of grounds, but not including the use of power-driven mowers, cutters, trimmers,
edgers, or similar equipment.

9. KITCHEN WORK and other work involved in preparing and serving food and beverages,
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including operating machines and devices used in performing such work along with entering
walk-in freezers or meat coolers for the purpose of retrieving food items stored therein.
Examples of permitted machines and devices include, but are not limited to, dishwashers,
toasters, dumbwaiters, popcorn poppers, milk shake blenders, coffee grinders, automatic coffee
machines, devices used to maintain the temperature of prepared foods (such as warmers, steam
tables, and heat lamps), and microwave ovens that are used only to warm prepared food and do
not have the capacity to warm above 140 °F.
10. CLEANING KITCHEN EQUIPMENT. Minors are permitted to clean kitchen equipment
(not otherwise prohibited), remove oil or grease filters, pour oil or grease through filters, and
move receptacles containing hot grease or hot oil, but only when the equipment, surfaces,
containers and liquids do not exceed a temperature of 100°F.
11. CLEANING VEGETABLES AND FRUITS, AND THE WRAPPING, SEALING,
LABELING, WEIGHING, PRICING, AND STOCKING OF ITEMS, INCLUDING
VEGETABLES, FRUITS, AND MEATS, when performed in areas physically separate from
freezer or meat cooler.
12. LOADING ONTO MOTOR VEHICLES AND THE UNLOADING FROM MOTOR
VEHICLES of the light, non-power-driven, hand tools and personal protective equipment that
the minor will use as part of his or her employment at the work site; and the loading onto motor
vehicles and the unloading from motor vehicles of personal items such as a back pack, a lunch
box, or a coat that the minor is permitted to take to the work site. Such light tools would
include, but not be limited to, rakes, hand-held clippers, shovels, and brooms. Such light tools
would not include items like trash, sales kits, promotion items or items for sale, lawn mowers, or
other power-driven lawn maintenance equipment. Such minors would not be permitted to load
or unload safety equipment such as barriers, cones, or signage.
13. THE OCCUPATION OF LIFEGUARD (15-year-olds but not 14-year-olds) at traditional
swimming pools and water amusement parks (including such water park faculties as wave pools,
lazy rivers, specialized activity areas, and baby pools, but not including the elevated areas of
water slides) when properly trained and certified in aquatics and water safety by the American
Red Cross or a similar certifying organization. No youth under 16 years of age may be
employed as a lifeguard at a natural environment such as an ocean side beach, lake, pond, river,
quarry, or pier.
14. WORK IN CONNECTION WITH CARS AND TRUCKS if confined to:
(i) Dispensing gasoline and oil,
(ii) Courtesy service on premises of gasoline service station.
(iii Car cleaning, washing, and polishing by hand.
15. WORK IN CONNECTION WITH RIDING INSIDE PASSENGER COMPARTMENTS OF
MOTOR VEHICLES except as prohibited by state and these regulation, when a significant
reason for the minor being a passenger in the vehicle is for the purpose of performing work in
connection with the transporting—or assisting in the transporting of—other persons or property.
Each minor riding as a passenger in a motor vehicle must have his or her own seat in the
passenger compartment; each seat must be equipped with a seat belt or similar restraining
device; and the employer must instruct the minors that such belts or other devices must be used.
In addition, each driver transporting the young workers must hold a valid state driver’s license
for the type of vehicle being driven and, if the driver is under the age of 18, his or her
employment must comply with the provisions of the state’s driver license.
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16. Work Experience and Career Exploration Programs (WECEP)

(i) For 14- and 15-year-old participants in approved school-supervised and school-administered
WECEPs. Enrollees in WECEP may be employed:

(1) During school hours.

(1) For as many as 3 hours on a school day, including Fridays.

(1) For as many as 23 hours in a school week.

(i) The state educational agency must obtain approval from the Commissioner of Labor before
operating a WECEP program.

17. Work-Study Program (WSP)

(i) 14- and 15-year-old students participating in a Federal or State Department of Education
approved school-supervised and school administered WSP. Participating students must be
enrolled in a college preparatory curriculum and identified by authoritative personnel of the
school as being able to benefit from the WSP.

(if) Employment of students in an authorized WSP shall be confined to not more than 18 hours in
any one week when school is in session, a portion of which may be during school hours, in
accordance with the following formula that is based upon a continuous four-week cycle. In three
of the four weeks, the participant is permitted to work during school hours on only one day per
week, and for no more than for eight hours on that day. During the remaining week of the four-
week cycle, such minor is permitted to work during school hours on no more than two days, and
for no more than for eight hours on each of those two days. The employment of such minors
would still be subject to the remaining time of day and number of hours standards contained in
these regulations.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-2, 39-2-18, and 39-2-19

300-7-2-.02 Time of Inspection and Pertinent Records. Amended.

The Commissioner of Labor or the Commissioner’s designee shall inspect, or cause to be
inspected at a reasonable time any employer or establishment where a minor is employed. The
required work certificates and pertinent records (evidencing hours worked by minor) must be
available at location where work is performed.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-2 and 39-2-19.

300-7-2-.03 Place of Employment.

(1) No minor in shall be allowed to work for firm, person or corporation at any location or job
deemed hazardous under Official Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia.

(2) No minor shall be employed where the atmosphere, location, or place of employment

is hostile or offensive to the generally accepted standards of this State or the community

in which the minor is expected to perform.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-2 and 39-2-19.
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300-7-2-.04 Employment Certificates.

No Minors between 12 and 16 years of age shall be employed or permitted to work, unless,
pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 39-2-11 a certificate is issued by the school administration, or as
provided under O.C.G.A. § 20-2-690(c)(6) for minors in an approved home study course.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 39-2-1, 39-2-2, 39-2-11 and 39-2-19.
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